3217 Northfield Drive | Springfield, IL 62702

About Us

Highway Commissioners

This website is dedicated to promoting the work performed by township highway commissioners in Illinois. As a division of TOI, we realize the importance of electronic communication. If not for ourselves for future generations of township government. Through this medium our board of directors hopes to pave the way to improve communication among and abroad in Illinois Township Road Districts.



If a township has CDL drivers that drive trucks or truck/trailers over 26,000 lbs., they must have a drug & alcohol testing program and be signed up in the Clearinghouse.

Employers cannot EMPLOY drivers subject to drug and alcohol testing under Part 382 without first conducting a pre-employment (full) query and a pre-employment drug test on the driver.   Out of the 675,000 carriers that have signed into the Clearinghouse, FMCSA put out a notice on February 21 that nearly 8,000 positive substance abuse tests of commercial drivers have been reported just since January 6, 2020.

FMCSA is serious! Enforcement of the Clearinghouse is coming.


THCOI Board of Directors

President Arnold Vegter Whiteside County/Union Grove Township

Vice President Scott Seebach Ogle County/Flagg Township

Secretary Tim Killian McLean County/Chenoa Township

Treasurer Craig Smith Dekalb County/Dekalb Township

Director Gene Adams Cook County/Palos Township

Director Kevin Bird Pike County/Hickory Point Township

Director Bill Carlson Will County/Frankfort Township

Director John Dusza DuPage County/Winfield Township

Director Don Goad McHenry County/Greenwood Township 

Director Danny Hanning Schuyler County/Huntsville Township

Director Kenny Hayes Jefferson County/Mt. Vernon Township

Director Steve Helton Douglas County/Bourbon Township

Director Kirby Hobbs Pike County/Pittsfield Township

Director Scott Kegarise Cook County/Schaumburg Township

Director James Kensler Unit Road District #5

Director Darrell Maxheimer Sangamon County/Rochester Township

Director Gary Muehlfelt DuPage County/Milton Township

Director Jeff Reed Macon County/Pleasant View Township

Director Jeremy Roberts Kankakee County/Yellowhead Township

Director Scott Weaver Tazewell County/Washington Township

Director Chris Trennepohl McDonough County/Chalmers Township

Director Darrell Moore Tazewell County/Morton Township


Highway Commissioner Division Mission Statement

  • Promote and protect the combined interests of all Illinois Highway Commissioners.
  • Disseminate information of interest and concern to all members.
  • Encourage uniformity of administration and increase operation among Illinois Highway Commissioners through educational seminars, programs, and printed materials for presentations to, and use by, THCI members.
  • Educate and inform the public, the Illinois Legislature and other citizens through programs, seminars and printed material of the responsibilities of Illinois Road Districts within the State of Illinois.
  • Coordinate and cooperate with the Township Officials of Illinois and other organizations for the purpose of strengthening Township Government in the State of Illinois.
  • Nominate and duly elect members of the Highway Commissioner's Division as representatives of said Division on the Township Officials of Illinois' Board of Directors.

Illinois Township Highway Commissioners Associations Presidents

Township Highway Commissioners of Illinois President

Arnold Vegter
Union Grove Township/Whiteside County
Email: arvegter@icloud.com


Northern Illinois Highway Commissioners Association President

Edward R. Young
Lisle Twp/DuPage County
Phone: 630-210-1092
Email: highway@lisletownship.com

Nothing on the Schedule yet – TBD

West Central Illinois Highway Commissioners President

Dennis M. Gibb
Ellison Township/Warren County
Phone: 309-371-8620
Email: dmgibb@mtcnow.net

Northwest Highway Commissioners of Illinois President

Arnold Vegter
Union Grove Township/Whiteside County
Phone: 815-535-5170
Email: arvegter@icloud.com


East Central Illinois Highway Commissioners Association President

Darrell D. Maxheimer
Rochester Twp/Sangamon County
Phone: 217-899-6355
Email: rochroaddis@sbcglobal.net


linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram